Grants And Prizes

Hamblin Prize

The Hamblin Prize was established in 2008 in honour of Professor Terry Hamblin, the founder of the UK CLL Forum. Given his major contributions to the CLL literature, both as author and editor, it was felt that this prize should be awarded for the best CLL-related publication from a UK-based group in the previous year.

2019 Winner

Mangolini M, Götte F, Moore A, Ammon T, Oelsner M, Lutzny-Geier G, Klein-Hitpass L, Williamson JC, Lehner PJ, Dürig J, Möllmann M, Rásó-Barnett L, Hughes K, Santoro A, Méndez-Ferrer S, Oostendorp RAJ, Zimber-Strobl U, Peschel C, Hodson DJ, Schmidt-Supprian M, Ringshausen I. Notch2 controls non-autonomous Wnt-signalling in chronic lymphocytic leukaemia. Nat Commun. 2018 Sep 21;9(1):3839. 

Previous winners

2008 - Dr Andrea Buggins, Kings College London for her paper "Tumor-derived IL-6 may contribute to the immunological defect in CLL. Leukaemia, Epub Nov 12007

2009 - Gillian G. Johnson for her article 'A Novel Type of p53 Pathway Dysfunction in Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia Resulting from Two Interacting Single Nucleotide Polymorphisms within the p21 Gene'. Published in Cancer Research 2009; 69:(12). June 15

2012 - Dr Sergey Krysov, for his paper ‘Surface IgM stimulation induces MEK1/2 dependent MYV expression in chronic lymphocytic leukemia cells.’

2013 - Professor Andrew Pettitt for his paper 'Alemtuzumab in combination with methylprednisolone is a highly effective induction regimen for patients with chronic lymphocytic leukemia and deletion of TP53: final results of the national cancer research institute CLL206 trial.' Published in J Clin Oncol. 2012;30(14):1647-55

2014 - Ruth Clifford, for her paper ‘SAMHD1is mutated recurrently in CLL and is involved in response to DNA damage' Blood.2014 Feb 13;123(7):1021-31

2015 - John Riches, Queen Mary, University of London Trisomy12 chronic lymphocytic leukemia cells exhibit upregulation of integrinsignaling that is modulated by NOTCH1 mutations Blood. 2014 Jun 26;123(26):4101-10

2016 - Marwan Kwok & Nicola Davies, University Hospital Birmingham. ATR inhibition induces synthetic lethality and overcomeschemoresistance in TP53- or ATM-defective chronic lymphocytic leukaemia cells.Blood 2016 Feb 4;127(5):582-95 Catovsky Prize

2017 - Stamatopoulos B, Timbs A, Bruce D, Smith T, Clifford R, Robbe P, Burns A, Vavoulis DV, Lopez L, Antoniou P, Mason J, Dreau H, Schuh A. Targeted deep sequencing reveals clinically relevant subclonal IgHV rearrangements in chronic lymphocytic leukemia. Leukemia. 2017 Apr;31(4):837-845. 

2018 - Agathanggelou A, Smith E, Davies NJ, Kwok M,Zlatanou A, Oldreive CE, Mao J, Da Costa D, Yadollahi S, Perry T, Kearns P,Skowronska A, Yates E, Parry H, Hillmen P, Reverdy C, Delansorne R, Paneesha S,Pratt G, Moss P, Taylor AMR, Stewart GS, Stankovic T. USP7 inhibition altershomologous recombination repair and targets CLL cells independently of ATM/p53functional status. Blood. 2017 Jul 13;130(2):156-166.

The annual Catovsky prize (£500) was established in 2006 by the UK CLL Forum in recognition of the outstanding contribution that Professor Daniel Catovsky has made to the field of clinical and scientific CLL research. All non-tenured CLL researchers are invited to submit an abstract of their research work for consideration by the UK CLL Forum Executive committee. The four highest scoring abstracts are selected for 15 minute oral presentation at the annual educational meeting. A panel then selects the winning applicant based on these presentations. 


2019 - Best Oral Presentation – Dr Robin Sanderson - Barts Cancer Institute - Exhausted CLL T Cells Mediated By PD1 Expression an Important Mechanism for CD19 CAREfficacy in CLL in the Adoptive Transfer TCL1 Mouse Model

2019 - Best Poster Presentation – Emma Kennedy - Evidence for the role of TLR9 in migration of CLL cells

Previous winners

2006 -Dr Piers Patten, Leukaemia Research Fund Clinical Fellow, Kings College Hospital, LONDON.

2007 - Dr Fiona Bennett, HMDS, Leeds

2008 -Dr Mieke Vogler fMRC Toxicology Unit, Leicester University

2010 -Dr Victoria Weston, CRUK School of Cancer Sciences, Birmingham University

2011 - Dr Sean Lim, MRC Clinical Research Fellow, Cancer Sciences Unit, Southampton School of Medicine

2012 - Emilio Cosimo, Institue of Cancer Studies, College of Medicine, Veterinary and Life Sciences, University of Glasgow.

2013 - Best Oral Presentation. Elizabeth WalsbyUniversity of Cardiff for her paper 'Migration of primary CLL cells across the vascular endothelium modeled and characterised in a novel in vitro circulation system'.

2013 - Best Poster Presentation Elinor Chapman from the Department of Molecular and Clinical Cancer Medicine, Institute of Translational Medicine, University of Liverpool for her poster entitled 'The AKT inhibitor AZD5363 inhibits the proliferation of chronic lymohocytic leukaemia cells and revers chemo-resistance induced by stromal interactions'

2014 - Best Oral Presentation, Dr Matthew Blunt Cancer Sciences Unit University of Southampton for his paper 'The PI3K/mTOR inhibitor PF-04691502 induces apoptosis and inhibits microenvironmental signaling in CLL and the Eµ-TCL1 mouse model.'

2015 - Best Oral Presentation, Dr Matthew Carter, Cancer Sciences Unit, University of Southampton School of Medicine. dPI3-Kinhibition elicits anti-leukaemic effects through the induction of Bim-dependent apoptosis

2015 - Best Poster Presentation, Dr Basile Stamatopoulos, John Radcliffe/University of Oxford. Immunoglobulin heavy-chain gene mutation status by next-generation deep sequencing in chronic lymphocytic leukemia: prognostic significance of multiple subclones and improvement of previous classification

2016 - Best Oral Presentation Mr Stuart Blakemore, University of Southampton, Overcoming Mcl-1-mediated resistance in CLL via selective inhibition with UMI-77 in combination with ABT-199

2016 - Best Poster Presentation Dr Beatriz Valle Argos, University of Southampton, The inositol lipid phosphatase SHIP1 is recruited to surface IgM following stimulation to suppress B-cell receptor mediated signalling responses in chronic lymphocytic leukaemia cells

2017 - Best Oral Presentation – Dr Harindra Amarasinghe – University of Southampton - The memory-like DNA methylation signature is an independent prognostic factor in treatment-naïve chronic lymphocytic leukaemia: data from the UK CLL4, ARCTIC and ADMIRE trials

2017 - Best Poster Presentation – Miss Sarah Wilmore – University of Southampton - Investigating effects of eIF4A inhibitors silvestrol and rocaglamide on B-cell receptor-induced MYC expression in primary human chronic lymphocytic leukaemia (CLL) cells

This website is still being developed, and we would be delighted to receive suggestions for content and improvement, notification of corrections etc at UK Registered Charity No. 1104229

Working... Please wait